The search engine juggernaut, Google, recently announced that it is updating its terms and services so it can use your name, face, reviews, and social networking activity (like +1s) in ads displayed to your friends or anyone else Google thinks would be influenced by your opinion. For some of us this is no big deal, for others it may feel like a small privacy issue. Either way, here are some simple steps to Opting Out of Google’s New Ads.

 

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 2.19.56 PM

First, go to Google’s “Shared Endorsements” Google+ settings page.

 

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 2.20.26 PM

Uncheck the box labeled “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.” Click Save.

 

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 2.22.22 PM

You will be presented with a message explaining “when you disable this setting, your friends will be less likely to benefit from your recommendations.” Click continue.

 

Boom, you’re done. Wasn’t that simple?!

 

That’s all there is to it. According to lifehacker.com, if you don’t want your name, photo, +1s, comments, or Google Reviews to be used in advertisements, you’ll need to uncheck that box. You’ll have to do this for every Google account you have (including Google Apps for your domain), and if you’re a Google+ user, the box is enabled by default.

0 Comments

Leave a reply

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending

©2017

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?